News    Roster    Gallery    Guild Charter    Guild Map    Online Application    Videos  
Show Stats
Misophonia (Noise problem)

Misophonia (Noise problem)
[Back to Index]
Thread Tags
Primary: [Forum Troll]
Secondary: [Lost Soulz Member] [Off-Topic]

865 days ago Rating: 0 | #1

Seri knows of my Misophonia but since I am new to most of you, I wanted to share a little bit of how it works. Misophonia is defined as the hatred of sound. Every day sounds that most people don't notice, are heard and is amplified to my brain. My brain then processes the noise(s) as an attack. So I go into what's called a "flight or fight" mode. For example...someone eating with their mouth open may just be annoying to the average person, but to me, if it lasts longer than 10-20 seconds, I get panicky and if there are too many sounds at once, they cause a panic attack. There is no cure. Lots of people have no idea what it is including the medical community. This is not something that is just in my head. It's not made up. It is a very real, and very debilitating neurological condition. I live alone for that reason. I don't socialize outside of my home and I only really hop on vent for raids. I like my environment controlled to where I don't have to worry about being triggered.

With all that being said, if I snap at you or if i'm all of a sudden really quiet, it's because of that. I may have to mute people because of things if i'm having a really rough day. Please don't take offense. I don't expect anyone to do anything about it or change the way they do things just because of my issue. It is something I alone have to deal with. I have techniques that I use (brown noise and soft music) to cancel out the noises I hear.